How do bugs eat?

There are two main methods of eating. First, they can suck up food through a mouthpart resembling a straw called a proboscis. Some examples, flies, butterflies and mosquitos. Second, they can chew with claw-like parts such as mandibles and maxillae like ants, caterpillars, beetles and wasps.