Who succeeded julius caesar?

Augustus was born Gaius Octavius. Caesar had named his grandnephew Gaius Octavius his sole heir.

---

Julius Caesar was initially succeeded by a triumvirate consisting of Julius Caesar’s adopted son, Ovtavian (later Augutus Caesar); Marcus Antonius (Mark Antony), and Marcus Aemilius Lepidus. Lepidus was ousted, and a war between Antony and Octavian resulted in Octavian’s victory.