What type of animal is gonzo from the muppets?

Gonzo's undetermined species is a running gag at Muppets Studio. Throughout his career he has been identified as a Frackle (a type of muppet monster); a space alien; and various types of birds. In Muppets from Space, Gonzo is refused boarding on Noah's Ark because he is the only one of his species.