Is tryptophan found in turkey?

Yes, turkey and many proteins contain the amino acid tryptophan, which produces the sleep-promoting neurotransmitter serotonin and hormone melatonin. Contrary to popular belief, turkey has a similar amount of tryptophan to other poultry. It's effects come from the amount consumed on Thanksgiving.