When was the stamp act?

The Stamp Act was passed by the British Parliament on March 22, 1765. The new tax was imposed on all American colonists and required them to pay a tax on every piece of printed paper they used. Ship's papers, legal documents, licenses, newspapers, other publications, and even cards were taxed.

---

The Stamp Act of 1765 was an Act of the Parliament of Great Britain, which imposed a direct tax on the British colonies in America. The Stamp Act was passed by Parliament on 22 March 1765, with an effective date of 1 November 1765. It was Repealed on 18 March 1766.