What is the difference between a pony and a miniature horse?

Miniature horses look like larger horses but on a much smaller scale. Both miniature horses and ponies are, in essence, small horses. Ponies can fall anywhere under 14.2 hands or 57 inches in height. Miniature horses cannot be taller than 34 inches at the withers.