What is the movie painting glory about?

Pain and Glory is a 2019 Spanish drama film starring Antonio Banderas and Penélope Cruz. The film narrates a series of reunions of Salvador Mallo (Antonio Banderas), a film director in his decline. Some of these reunions play out in real time, others are recalled through flashbacks.