What does yate mean?

Yate is an obsolete form of gate. Or, from a native Australian language, yate is one of several small eucalyptus trees that produce very hard timber.

---

In Australia, 'yate' refers to any of several eucalyptus trees, especially Eucalyptus cornuta which yields very hard timber.