Why do we get sleepy after we eat?

Tryptophan levels increase excessively after consuming large quantities of foods especially those already high in tryptophan amino acid. Poultry, dairy, nuts and seeds can increase your tryptophan levels as well as other foods high in carbohydrates. In moderation, Tryptophan is a good amino acid.