How can i soften hard and brown sugar?

Put the brown sugar in a container and place in the microwave with a small bowl full of water beside it. Microwave for about 1 minute and then check it. If it’s still hard, try for another 30 seconds. You can keep doing this until the sugar is soft, but watch that you don’t melt the sugar.