How do sea turtles breathe?

Sea turtles are air-breathing reptiles. They must regularly surface to refill their lungs. They spend the majority of their time underwater, up to 40 minutes per dive, hours if sleeping. Their lungs allow rapid exchange of oxygen with a vigorous exhalation to prevent trapped gases during deep dives.