Who is mactavish?

John "Soap" MacTavish is a fictional character and protagonist in the Call of Duty story Modern Warfare. He first appears as a main playable character in the 2007 video game Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare where he is part of the 22nd Special Air Service regiment as a sniper and demolitions expert.