What was the first breed of horse?

One of the best-known early Eocene horses was Eohippus angustidens, whose name means "dawn horse." Fossils of this species were first found during the 19th century in North America. For many years, dawn horse was believed to be the first horse, but now fossils of earlier horses have been discovered.