Where does rye bread originate from?

Rye bread is very popular in Europe and Germany. The grain is believed to have originated in Asia in prehistoric times and was brought to Europe in the Middle ages where it was widely used in breadmaking and producing alcohols. Migrants from Northern Europe brought rye bread to the U.S.

---

Origin. Rye bread is very popular in Europe and Germany. The grain is believed to have originated in Asia in prehistoric times and was brought to Europe in the Middle ages where it was widely used in breadmaking and producing alcohols. Migrants from Northern Europe brought rye bread to the U.S.