Are potatoes dangerous to dogs?

Like tomatoes, raw potatoes contain solanine, a compound that is toxic to some dogs. ... If you do feed your dog a potato, it should be baked or boiled. Potatoes fried in oil, such as french fries or potato chips, or potatoes with butter or salt added to them are not healthy for dogs.