What's the difference between a g. e. d. and a high school diploma?

The GED is a high school equivalency diploma, so you can use it to apply to college or for a job resume, just like you would with a high school diploma. If you’re wondering which schools and jobs accept the GED, more than 98 percent of schools in the United States accept the GED.