What is the empire from star wars?

The Galactic Empire, also known as the Old Empire, the First Galactic Empire, Palpatine's New Order, the Imperium or simply the Empire, was the galactic government established by Supreme Chancellor Palpatine to replace the Galactic Republic in 19 BBY and bring Sith rule to the galaxy.

---

The Galactic Empire is the twisted remnant of the Old Republic, controlled by the Sith Lord Palpatine. As a member of the Imperial Security Bureau, I must now report you to my superiors for further questioning.