Why are earwigs called earwigs?

Their English name is derived from the Anglo-Saxon ear-wicga, which roughly means, the “ear wiggler.” Some say earwigs have a liking for crawling into the ears of sleeping humans, boring into our brains and laying their eggs there. But this is more of a wive’s tale than a scientific truth.