How long do you cook a four pound standing rib roast?

Bone in Cook for 25 minutes a pound. A 4 lb roast takes about 1.75 hours for a rare roast, but watch the thermometer reading. After you cook it for 25 minutes a pound, take it out of the oven, let it sit for 1 minute and then check the thermometer reading. Adjust time add 15 minutes for medium rare.