Can mountain lions roar?

Mountain lions don't roar, but females have a loud scream, which is believed to attract males. ... Because of their size, strength, and predatory skills, mountain lions are considered one of the “big cats.” Tigers, leopards, cheetahs, and jaguars are also part of this grouping.