Has anyone ever seen a giant squid?

Yes; First seen on film in 2006, it was not actually seen in the natural habitat until six years later in 2012. Most recently, in 2019 at a depth of over 2,400 ft., a live giant squid, or Family Architeuthidae was recorded in its natural habit. Fresh samples allowed for full genomic sequencing.