How were lakes made?

Many lakes were made by glaciers, which were several miles thick and comprised of ice, rock, uprooted trees and everything else in the glacier’s way. All of the Great Lakes in the United States were formed by glaciers. Some lakes are man made, using large machines such as excavators.