How much energy is in the sun?

The energy in the sun is calculated to be 400 trillion trillion watts. To put this into context, every second the sun produces the same energy as about a trillion 1 megaton nuclear bombs. In 1 second, our sun produces enough energy for 500,000 years of all the energy needs of our planet and people.