What happened to amelia earhart?

During an attempt to make a circumnavigational flight of the globe in 1937 in a Purdue-funded Lockheed Model 10-E Electra, Earhart and navigator Fred Noonan disappeared over the central Pacific Ocean near Howland Island.

---

She disappeared during a Solo flight across the Atlantic Ocean and was never found or heard from again. It’s assumed that her plane crashed during the journey, although no evidence was found to confirm that.