How do planets form?

It's not known with certainty how planets are formed. The prevailing idea is that they are formed during the collapse of a nebula into a thin disk of gas and dust. With a process of sticky collisions dust particles in the disk accumulate mass to form larger bodies that will eventually form a planet.