Why do dogs tilt their head to the side?

It helps them hear better. The canine ear is incredibly sensitive, capable of picking up a far larger range of frequencies than humans. Their sharp sense of hearing can pick up the most minuscule undulations in frequency, and their head-positioning makes a world of difference.