What makes something a mammal?

There are several characteristics shared by mammals. The most well-known include: live births, lactation, and hair.

---

A mammal is warm blooded, has a backbone, has hair or fur, bears live young, and females excrete milk for nourishment of the young.

---

Oxford dictionary defines a mammal as a warm-blooded vertebrate animal of a class that is distinguished by the possession of hair or fur, the secretion of milk by females for the nourishment of the young, and (typically) the birth of live young.