How could food be grown on mars?

While MarsOne project optimistically claims: "CO2 for the plants is available from the Mars atmosphere and water is available through recycling and the soil on Mars. Nutrients for the plants could come from recycling human waste or could be imported from Earth.", the technical challenges are huge.

---

CO2 for the plants is available from the Mars atmosphere and water is available through recycling, and the soil on Mars. Nutrients for the plants could come from recycling human waste or could be imported from Earth.