How do you mince thyme?

Remove the needles or leaves. Holding a sprig of thyme or rosemary at its top, slide your fingers down it, to the bottom, to strip off the leaves or needles. Bundle the needles and slice across. Thyme leaves are usually small enough to use without chopping.

---

The best method it to macerate the thyme in a mortar and pedstal. This will release more of the oils containing thymol, the compound that gives thyme is aroma and flavor. It is helpful to strip the leaves first.