What is the x. and x. ray stand for?

In 1895, Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen observed a glow on a chemically treated plate in his lab while working with a cathode ray tube. Because he didn't know what kind of radiation was causing it, he called them X-rays, X being the symbol for the unknown.