What's the history of candy?

The history of candy dates back to ancient peoples who must have snacked on sweet honey straight from bee hives. The first candy confections were fruits and nuts rolled in honey. Honey was used in Ancient China, Middle East, Egypt, Greece and the Roman Empire.