What is we didn't start the fire about?

Joel's concept for “We Didn't Start the Fire” was to review the major events that had happened during his own lifetime, from his birth in 1949 to the release of the song in 1989. The song is a kaleidoscope of headlines over a span of 40 years, then, summing up events in the late Twentieth Century.