What is an unidentified aerial phenomenon?

Unidentified aerial phenomenon are flying objects seen world wide and yet lack a single definition. Based on worldwide reports from military and civilian sources there are probably multiple types of U.A.P requiring different explanations based on the range of appearances and behaviors.