Who said a little learning is a dangerous thing?

That quote is found in Alexander Pope’s poem, An Essay on Criticism, written in 1709. The sentence reads: “A little learning is a dangerous thing; drink deep, or taste not the Pierian spring: there shallow draughts intoxicate the brain, and drinking largely sobers us again.”