Who did iceland gain it's independence from?

Iceland became an independent republic in 1944, but actually gained independence from Denmark on December 1st, 1918, with the signing of the Act of Union with Denmark. The Act recognized Iceland as an independent state under the Danish crown. Iceland's Independence Day is June 17.