What does clutches mean?

The word "clutch" as a noun means a tight grasp or an act of grasping. It can also mean a group of eggs fertilized at the same time, laid in a single session and (in birds) incubated together or a small group of people or things. If you mean "in one's clutches," that would be the first definition.