Does beef stew have tomatoes in it?

Other than beef and water and maybe salt, the ingredients of beef stew are whatever you want them to be. Most stews focus more on starchy vegetables such as potatoes, root vegetables, beans, and grains than they do on more easily digestible foods like tomatoes.