Where did olly olly oxen free come from?

Though there are many variations on this phrase (such as "all ye, all ye, all's set free"), it's probably a corruption of a German phrase, "Alle, alle auch sind frei" (literally, "Everyone, everyone also is free").

---

This is an American derivation of german used by children for the game we currently call "tag" or " capture the flag". Children would hide then when the "seeker" shouted "alles alles der auch sind freid" players would run to "safe" to win the game. This misinterpreted" to "olley olley oxen freed"