What is banana french toast bake?

A quick “caramel” sauce is made on the stovetop by combining melted butter, brown sugar, and maple syrup. Sliced bananas are tossed in the sauce and then layered between cubes of bread. The whole mixture is topped with an egg and milk custard and then refrigerated overnight before baking.