Tell me a dutch shepherd fact?

The Dutch Shepherd is a herding dog of Dutch origin. They were used by shepherds and farmers who needed a versatile dog that was able to adapt to a harsh and meager existence. They were bred in the 19th Century and nearly went extinct during the 1940s and 50s. They are still a rare breed of dog.