What is a blooming onion?

A native Australian may not know what to make of a "bloomin onion". If, however, you're at an Australian restaurant, a bloomin' onion is an onion, cut, cracked open & fried to expose onion petals. Don't forget to schedule an appt with a cardiologist if you add a bloomin' onion to your bucket list.