Is a squash a fruit?

Since squash contains seeds and develops from the flower-producing part of a plant, it is botanically a fruit. Squash isn't the only plant that gets confused for a vegetable. Other fruits frequently called veggies include tomatoes, eggplants, avocados and cucumbers.