How does m. s. affect the body?

Multiple sclerosis, or M.S. is a long-lasting disease that can affect your brain, spinal cord, and the optic nerves in your eyes. It can cause problems with vision, balance, muscle control, and other basic body functions such as slurred speech, weakness, and paralysis.