Why do raccoons wash their food?

People often think that raccoons are washing their food, but that is not the reason for the habit, Raccoons usually wet their food before eating it. to gather more sensory information about it from nerve endings in their paws. Moistening food enhances a raccoon's understanding of what it is eating