Who's the snowman in rudolph the red nosed reindeer?

While neither the 1948 nor 1998 versions of this classic Christmas story contain snowmen, talking or otherwise, in the 1964 Rankin & Bask classic, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Sam the Snowman is voiced by Burl Ives.