Can the sun blind you?

According to Gizmodo, staring at the sun causes damages to the retina and partial blindness. Permanent, complete blindness can also occur from staring at the sun over a long term. UV light causes damage to the eye lens, typically resulting in cataracts and invasive tissue growth known as pterygium.