Where do cicadas come from?

Cicadas are animals so they come from other cicadas. The mother deposits eggs which hatch into larvae. They look like small ants or termites at this stage. When mature enough, they burrow into the ground and feed on tree roots for 2 to 17 years, at which time they emerge to start the cycle all over.