How many teeth do shark have?

Some sharks can have over 50,000 teeth over the course of their lives! Many sharks have teeth in layered rows. Both their upper and lower jaws can have 2-3 or as many as 15 such rows. Their teeth do not have roots, so they break off easily and may last as little as a week.