When was the last earthquake in california?

July 2019. The Ridgecrest earthquakes that hit on July 4 and July 5, had a magnitude of 6.4 and 7.1 respectively, and were the most recent earthquakes in Southern California. The 7.1 lasted for 12 seconds, and was felt by about 30 million people.