What does noni mean?

Noni is a noun meaning any of various evergreen trees or shrubs of the madder family (Genus Morinda ) native to the South Pacific. Various medicinal preparations are made from their leaves, roots, and fruit, and the word etymology is from Tahitian, Noni.